#6 AJNA - Part 2

The Third Eye Chakra - The Command Center

Complete Yoga Breath
with Sound!

Ajna Links

Click Chakra images below to learn about each one individually.

Root Chakra
1st Chakra

Sacral Chakra
2nd Chakra

Navel Chakra
3rd Chakra

Heart Chakra
4th Chakra

Throat Chakra
5th Chakra

Third Eye Chakra
6th Chakra

NASA Eye of God image in center. Crown Chakra.
7th Chakra

Sukh-Purvak Variation
Ajna Definitions of Ajna
  • Associations—The auric layer of the soul body. The feminine aspects of human energy. Opening the door of perception (ESP). Will, vision, dynamic thought, intuition, higher manas, archetypal identity. This Chakra is also known as the Guru Chakra.  This Chakra has no animal associated with it, as it is not considered to really be part of the body.
  • Color—Indigo, deep sea blue, shades of dark blue shining white, radiance and luminosity

“The rose-colored ray runs all over the body along the nerves, and is clearly the life of the nervous system. This is the specialized vitality which one man may readily pour into another in whom it is deficient.” (Exactly what an enlightened Chakra Healer can do, or practicing Yoga and meditation can do, too.) —The Chakras - A Monograph by C.W. Leadbeater, The Theosophical Publishing House (1927).

Back to top


  • Element—Etheric energy, mind principle, electrical or telepathic energy, all elements in their pure essence, Soul of Creation, Mind, the active Life principle
  • Endocrine gland—The pineal gland (epiphysis) is a light-sensitive gland that produces the hormone melatonin, which regulates the instincts of going to sleep and awakening. Think of this Chakra as the absolute center of the brain, even if it is also called The Third Eye. This relates more to the radiating force of its energy.
  • Energetic Life Force—Putting ideas into action, creating reality from thought, expanding the mind and intuition, transcendent state
  • Essential Oils—Geranium, lavender, rosemary, spearmint. Also for aromatherapy: rose, amber, sandalwood
  • Female Spin—Counter clockwise; Male Spin: Clockwise
  • Flower Essences—Wild Oat, Queen Anne's Lace, Madia, Vanilla from the Orchid.
  • Function—Spiritual Mind. Psychic awareness. The alpha and omega of all that is, visible and invisible, intuition, and ESP: Knowledge or perception without the use of any of the 5 senses. ESP includes clairvoyance (knowledge about a distant object or event, such as an unreported accident), telepathy (reading another's thoughts or sending one's own to another), and precognition (predicting the future). But in the end it's all about the capacity to visualize and understand mental concepts. Tricks and psychic abilities are great for the ego, but this is not what this center is really about. If you want to experience The Third Eye, it is important to do it with love in your heart. It is also important to be able to use these capacities in a practical and down-to-earth way.
  • Gemstone—Amethyst, apatite, azurite, lapidolite, Lapis lazuli, purple or blue fluorite, clear quartz crystal, sugalite, blue sapphire, tourmaline, sodalite, sapphire, azurite, sugalite, cerussite, opal, tourmalinated quartz, iolite, polyhedral, agate, labradorite, celestite
  • Keywords—Perceive, psychic and intuitive senses, ESP, remote viewing, beyond the five senses, limitless time and space consciousness, the high mental body, command center, the spiritual eye and guidance, eye of psychic vision, see the big picture.
  • Lotus Petals—2 (white)

Back to top


  • Mantra—OM (AUM) (called Chakra seeds by my teacher) There are meditations given later in this series for each Chakra.
  • Meditation Purpose —All powers, both natural and supernatural, Atman, all-powerful spirit. OM (aum) and the tone is heeeeee
  • Meridians— Energy Yang Organ
  • Musical Tone—A (La)
  • Plane—Austerity
  • Planetary Ruler(s)—Personally, I place Jupiter here. Traditionally, the Moon (Chandra Chakra). Yogananda expressed his belief that this is the feminine polarity of Sahasrara, the 7th Chakra. Some astrologers associate Cancer Moon (Yin) and Leo Sun (Yang) with Ajna.
  • Planetary Signs—I place Aquarius here. Traditionally, Moon (Cancer) by night; the Sun (Leo) by day. Some say Mercury (hermaphrodite planet, so patriarchal and matriarchal).
  • Plexus—Cavernous
  • Purpose—The opening to wisdom. Putting our heads where our hearts are and learning from what we do and feel and say.
  • Sense—Thought, intuition, the sixth sense
  • Sense organ—Mind
  • Sound—AA (pronunciation-say); Mantra: Ham-ksham, OM
  • Symbol—The Ajna chakra showing the two petals, the itara-linga (the upraised conical object in the triangle), and the Pranava or Aum. A circle surrounded on each side by two large lotus petals (or a lotus with 96 petals), and inside it a triangle. Between eyebrows with Antahkaran or the mind. It is often associated with the Star of David, a golden egg.
  • Tempo—103
  • Tree of Life—Binah and Hakamah: Passive and captive potency of begetting intellect, holy orders, fire of consecration
  • Vertebrae groupings—The 6th and 7th Chakras are not connected to the spine in the same way as the others. See Endocrine Gland above.
  • Vibration—Thrones
  • Yoga—Mudra
  • Yoga postures—Yoga Mudra (seated), The Fish, The Shoulder Stand, Sukh-Purvak, Meditation, Chanting
Back to top


Spiritual Lesson

Learning to understand reality and not become attached. Seeing clear visions in dreams, reality, fantasies. A wonderful breathing exercise to do with the consciousness of Ajna in the mind (the third eye), is to just breathe consciously while performing tasks. Place your intention on your breath and with every movement (not just when doing Yoga) concentrate on that breath. Yoga is not just about conscious movement with breath, not just a physical exercise. It is a way of life. So, if you can bring that way of life into moments when you are using your body to clean house, wash dishes, do the laundry—whatever you are doing with your body—you will begin to be more conscious all the time!

This is the seat of cosmic consciousness and spiritual strength. The Native American tribes of Cherokee and Hopi, the Tibetans and the Hindus all teach that there is an energy being within our human body. It is time for us to learn from them!

Back to top


Return to Yoga Home Page About Us | Sitemap | Contact us | © 2007-2016 http://www.allgoodthings.com