The Navel Chakra - The Jewel's Abode
Definitions of Manipura

Complete Yoga Breath
with Sound!

Manipura Links

Click Chakra images below to learn about each one individually.

Root Chakra
1st Chakra

Sacral Chakra
2nd Chakra

Navel Chakra
3rd Chakra

Heart Chakra
4th Chakra

Throat Chakra
5th Chakra

Third Eye Chakra
6th Chakra

NASA Eye of God image in center. Crown Chakra.
7th Chakra

Sukh-Purvak Variation
  • Animal—Ram
  • Associations—The auric layers of the mental body and can extend up to 72 inches out from the skin. The feeling Chakra. Coeliac or Solar plexus. Lower mind.
  • Colors—Yellow (bright like the sun), golden, violet, red, peach

The light spectrum of the “green ray floods the abdomen, and whale-centering especially in the solar plexus, and evidently vivifies the liver, kidneys and intestines, and the digestive apparatus generally.” —The Chakras - A Monograph by C.W. Leadbeater, The Theosophical Publishing House (1927).

Back to top


  • Element—Fire, Air principle
  • Endocrine gland—The pancreas and adrenal cortex (outer), which play vital roles in our digestion and how our bodies convert food into energy for our physical strength and stamina. This Chakra is located between the sternum (breast bone) and the belly button. It is placed within these areas, but in different spots, by everyone! Some say it is the navel, while others say it is the solar plexus, while others say it is the pancreas, or the spleen. It is probably a good idea to just follow your own feeling when you begin to center yourself and focus on the area that you feel is the strongest between your belly button and your solar plexus (just where the sternum at the breast bone).
  • Energetic Life Force—Will and Power, knowledge of how the body works, plasmic, waking consciousness
  • Essential Oils—Juniper, lavender, bergamot, rosemary. Also for aromatherapy: peppermint, bougainvillea, frangipani, ylang-ylang, cedar, clove
  • Female Spin—Counter clockwise; Male Spin—Clockwise
  • Flower Essences—Aspen, Bergamot, Grapefruit, Honeysuckle
  • Function—Sustenance, digestion, preservation of species, freedom to be oneself, mental functioning, power, control. Here you feel that you belong to the universe. You experience spiritual wisdom with childlike laughter. It is here that the gases are held within, and control the liver (the place where the mystical and holy fire forever burns).
  • Gemstone—Amber, gold, yellow or citrine topaz, citrine, Tiger's eye, gold calcite, gold, peridot, yellow tourmaline, Laguna agate, Labradorite, howlite, jasper, chalcedony, Morganite, heliodor, yellow sapphire
  • Goddess—Lakini
  • Keywords—Higher vitality, energy, inner strength, lustrous jewel, purpose, will power, career, self-esteem, making of decisions, astral body, anger.
  • Lotus Petals—10 (bluish, like a rain cloud)

Back to top


  • Mantra—RAM (called Chakra seeds by my teacher) There are meditations given later in this series for each Chakra.
  • Meditation purpose—Ability to enter into other bodies; healer; seer of hidden treasures. OM (aum) and the tone is haaaaaaaa.
  • Meridians—Heart (fire energy Yin organ); Small Intestine (fire energy Yang organ)
  • Musical Tone—E (Mi)
  • Plane—Celestial plane
  • Planetary Ruler(s)—Personally, I place Venus here. Traditionally, Mars and Pluto are placed here. Edgar Cayce attributes Mars to this Chakra.
  • Planetary Signs—I place Taurus here. Traditionally, Aries by day (Mars), Scorpio by night (Pluto).
  • Plexus—Solar
  • Prana—There are 5 Pranas associated with Chakras. “Manipura Chakra prana is green and called Samana. It induces hunger and thirst.” —Swami Sivananda
  • Purpose—In martial arts the 3rd chakra is considered the center of Chi (Prana in Yoga), the life force energy. Its purpose is to bring balance to the body; to be centered from the center.
  • Sense—Sight, vision
  • Sense organ—Eyes
  • Shape—Triangle
  • Sound—oh (pronunciation-go)
  • Spiritual influence—Anger
  • Symbol—A circle surrounded by 10 lotus petals with a triangle inside; a golden sunflower.
  • Tempo—77
  • Tree of Life—Spleen chakra here—Thephareth: the universal harmony, Eucharist, fire of body formation, fellowship service
  • Vertebrae grouping—T8 through T12
  • Vibration—Powers (and the 2nd Chakra vibration applies here)
  • Work organs—Feet and legs
  • Yoga—Hatha
  • Yoga postures—Bow, Cobra, Abdominal strengtheners, Crocodile Variations, Pranayama

Back to top



Because this Chakra has so much to do with the center of the body, and that center contains the pancreas, the gall bladder, the spleen, and areas of the nervous system, it is also the repository for sensitive emotions. For this reason, anyone who is seeking to be in a position of power, must work on this Chakra diligently to remain healthy while their ambitions (mental) broaden into the real world.

According to C.W. Leadbeater, “Golden yellow is the color of intellect in its various phases and aspect. Strictly speaking, the (3rd) Yellow Chakra (Navel, Solar Plexus) is the center of the lower mind (objective, material) and is also complicated by emotional influences. The Yellow Ray: Yellow is a positive magnetic vibration with a tonic effect on the nerves. The color also influences the higher mind and soul; it is definitely inspiring and stimulating. The solar plexus (center of the 3rd Chakra) is the organizing brain of the nervous system. This ray cleanses and purifies the whole system. Its affinitive colors are green and blue.” Note: The 3rd Chakra receives green vitality from the spleen.

In all of the ancient texts on Yoga, there has been much written about the gray matter, the brain in the center of the body, which is located in the center of this Chakra. This is why it is so common to get butterflies in the stomach or a strange sensation when one is feeling very strongly about something. It has even been written that this matter resembles the brain.

Thought Forms Persist After Separation

To work with healing, it is wise to learn as much as you can about thought-forms and the power of prana. Swami Panchadasi in The Human Aura, writes: “A thought form, more than merely a strongly manifested thought, is such a thought surrounded by a body of ethereal substance, charged with prana, and even carrying with it the vibration of life energy of its creator ...

“To those who find it difficult to understand how a thought form can persist after separation from the presence of the thinker, I would say that the phenomenon is similar to that of light traveling in space, long after the star which originated it has been destroyed. Or, like the vibration of heat remaining in a room after the lamp or stove causing it has been removed, or the fire in the grate having died out. Or like the soundwaves of the drumbeat persisting after the beat itself has ceased. It is all a matter of the persistence of vibrations. Every thought form bears the same color that it would possess if it had been retained in the body of the aura itself.”

This is the best explanation I can find for the persistence of positive thoughts and using color to heal yourself and others. It is the reason that when you read about visualizing colors with specific Chakras, it is a good idea to try it out. You've got nothing to lose. It can't hurt you, and maybe it will help you!

Back to top


Return to Yoga Home Page About Us | Sitemap | Contact us | © 2007-2016 http://www.allgoodthings.com