Yoga at

What Does the Word Chakra Really Mean? Part 6

Introduction - Types of Chakras

Complete Yoga Breath
with Sound!

Chakra Intro Pages

Click Chakra images below to learn about each one individually.

Root Chakra
1st Chakra

Sacral Chakra
2nd Chakra

Navel Chakra
3rd Chakra

Heart Chakra
4th Chakra

Throat Chakra
5th Chakra

Third Eye Chakra
6th Chakra

NASA Eye of God image in center. Crown Chakra.
7th Chakra
DNA The Double HelixBecause there is so much to learn about Chakras, I have broken this series into separate files for each Chakra. I suggest that you save these files as you go, so that you can print them and then sit outside somewhere and read about them. It is always a good idea to have early-morning or late-afternoon sun being absorbed by your body as you absorb knowledge about the Chakra system, because it is so connected to the solar system.

Physical Chakras

The first three Chakras—the Root, Sacral, and Navel-Solar Plexus Chakras combine to form your foundation, identity, security, how you live in reality, and what you do with the material world in your day-to-day life. The Root Chakra releases the power, the Navel Chakra uses that power to create, and the Solar Plexus realizes that power to help us grow and evolve.

These Chakras connect to the energy of our Mother Earth. Native American medicine men, Shamans, and spiritually-evolved people know this energy. They are in touch with it. We should feel this energy in our feet and our legs. It is good to be 'rooted' to the Earth, to be grounded. This energy from the Earth feeds the Chakra system, just as the planets do. It is when you feel these that you can finally experience standing upside down and sideways on earth. This is a remarkable fact, and yet we never feel it!

According to Yesudian and Elisabeth Haich in Yoga and Health: “Between the positive pole in the skull and the negative pole in the lowest vertebra of the spine there is an electrical current of very short wavelength. When the negative pole is freed from its normal location in the lowest vertebra and travels upwards, it can reach the positive pole and unite with it. Whether we express ourselves symbolically or in scientific language, the fact remains that this condition represents the highest fulfillment in consciousness and the most perfect realization of happiness. This condition is known to mystics worldwide.”

Back to top


Emotional Chakras

The Heart Chakra helps us to live a life with love—to be loved and to love others. It draws from the Solar Plexus and together the two activate The Throat Chakra to help us think and communicate this love clearly, that is—when our Chakras are balanced. Many believe this is the most important Chakra. It is certainly what Jesus concentrated on when he said, “Love them for they know not what they do...” Remember? This is a perfect example of The Heart Chakra, and I am not a practicing Christian saying that. Even Yogananda revered Jesus.

Mental Chakras

The Throat Chakra, The Third Eye Chakra and The Crown Chakra unite to give us our visions and daydreams. This is our spiritual identity, our seeking, our self-evolvement, the outside contacts that we hold dear within us. These are our mental Chakras.


Chakras are the repositories that fill and nourish the entire body with the universal vital force of energy—a common translation for the Sanskrit word, Prana. There isn't a direct translation with one word. As I wrote earlier, vitality globules seems to suit me just fine! Some people just say energy, but that is not enough. Prana flows into every part of the body. It fills every cell and molecule. Each breath you take is filled with this Prana. This is why breathing properly is so important. Every bite you take of food is also filled with Prana. This is why it is so important to eat slowly and consciously and to keep your mouth closed so that the Prana can work its magic with your saliva for proper distribution into the rest of your digestive system.

Back to top


Jin Shin Jyutsu®

Even according to Jin Shin Jyutsu®, an ancient Japanese art of harmonizing the life-energy (qi or chi), meridians feed our cells. “The main central vertical flow includes the top of the head, between the eyebrows, tip of nose, base of throat, sternum, base of sternum, umbilicus, pubic bone and base of spine. Here is how to apply your own jumper cables:

“The main tributary or pathway of energy in the body is called the Main Central. It runs down the center of the front of the body and ascends up the spine. Harmonizing this daily can reduce overall stress, clear the head and give one a general feeling of being more balanced.

Main Central Vertical Flow
  • Place the right hand on top of the head. (This hand will remain here until step 8.) Place the fingers of the left hand between the eyebrows. Hold each step for several minutes.
  • Move left fingers to tip of nose.
  • Left fingers to v at base of the throat.
  • Left fingers on sternum between breasts.
  • Left fingers on base of sternum.
  • Left fingers just above the navel.
  • Left fingers on top of pubic bone.
  • Left fingers stay on public bone while right hand moves to base of spine (coccyx - tailbone).”

After doing this, you should feel the difference throughout your body and mind.

Source: Mary Burmeister, a Japanese-American woman studying in Japan with the sage Jiro Murai, and article by Pamela Feig. Image is also from this handout from a health food store. Tried to find the owner, but had no luck. (If you see this and want me to remove it, please email me.)

Back to top


Return to Yoga Home Page About Us | Sitemap | Contact us | © 2007-2021